KS4 Entry Level Certificate in Science (ELC)

Entry Level Certificates (ELCs) are nationally recognised qualifications which give students the opportunity to achieve a certificated award. The assessment is on demand so your students can complete assignments when they are ready, helping to keep them motivated.

Subject content

The specification comprises six components. Each component has two assessments:
one written exam and one practical assessment.

Year 10
Chemistry (Term 1)
Component 3
Elements, mixtures and compounds

Physics (Term 2)
Component 5
Energy, forces and the structure of matter

Biology (Term 3)
Component 1
The human body

Year 11
Chemistry (Term 1)
Component 4
Chemistry in our world

Physics (Term 2)
Component 6
Electricity, magnetism and waves

Biology (Term 3)
Component 2
Environment, evolution and inheritance

In addition

If a pupil has shown an interest in the subject and they wish to continue learning they can be entered for the GCSE double award science qualification. This however will require them to complete some additional classes and extended study outside of the normal school hours.

AQA Science: Trilogy Double award

This double award is equivalent to two GCSEs.

Subject content


  1. Cell biology
  2. Organisation
  3. Infection and response
  4. Bioenergetics
  5. Homeostasis and response
  6. Inheritance, variation and evolution
  7. Ecology


  1. Atomic structure and the periodic table
  2. Bonding, structure, and the properties of
  3. Quantitative chemistry
  4. Chemical changes
  5. Energy changes
  6. The rate and extent of chemical change
  7. Organic chemistry
  8. Chemical analysis
  9. Chemistry of the atmosphere
  10. Using resources


  1. Energy
  2. Electricity
  3. Particle model of matter
  4. Atomic structure
  5. Forces
  6. Waves
  7. Magnetism and electromagnetism

Exams Six papers: two biology, two chemistry and two physics. Each will assess different topics. Duration: all the papers are 1 hour 15 minutes.

Tiers: Foundation and Higher.
Weighting: the papers are equally weighted. Each is worth 16.7% of the grade and has 70 marks.
Question types: multiple choice, structured, closed, short answer and open response.